Rave on?

01/11/2011

Name that Tune:    “She stands out from the rest that girl has qualities I’ve never seen” – Sound of Eden, Shades of Rythym *

 Movie Quote of the Day:   “I’m gonna talk cod shit to strangers all night, I’m gonna lose the plot on the dancefloor. The free radicals inside me are freakin..” – Human Traffic 

 * was once serenaded with this in a club, which was sweet!

 

 Party invites don’t often come around for me these days which don’t involve sitting around drinking cappuccinos in a warehouse while my kids go ape in a soft play zone, so I was interested in this one and did give it some consideration for about 3 minutes.  Fantazia Reunion

 However…  Call me a miserable killjoy boring old fart but TBH I think this ship has sailed:

 Clearly 990 (at the last check) ex-ravers disagree with me and will be dusting off their dungies, clambering into their catsuits and heading to their nearest fishing tackle shop for florescent lures to wedge behind their gums, lathering a bit of Vicks on their tits and preparing to gurn the night away.

Nice One! Top One! Sorted!

 

 

 And I’m sure they will all have a marvellous time.  As I am sure I would too. But I’m not sure that I would be able to shake the uneasy sensation that maybe.. perhaps.. this sleeping dog should be left to lie. 

 (Plus, I doubt my back could take it!)

         Personally I’d like to keep the memories I have from those halcyon days of podium dancing for 5 hours straight; throwing shapes and feeling like the Queen of F*c*ing Everything; of keeping the same piece of gum on the go for 48 hours!! (to this day I can only bear to chew gum for as longs as it takes to refresh my mouth). 

        I like my memories of the smell of sweat mixed with Olbas Oil, cigarette smoke; other types of smoke; the apple tang of our friend Billy and the joy of getting changed a car while being threatened at gunpoint for the car stereo.. just the way they are thank you very much.  I don’t want them besmirched by a more recent and vivid photograph of elderly DJ’s, Everson Allan not looking as great as I remember and a load of late 30s/40+ vaguely familiar bods who are now 2 stone heavier, balding or early menopausal all comparing wallet shots of our kids and moaning about their jobs.

 There’s a word in the book ‘The Meaning of Liff’ (which of course I can’t find on my shelf to share with you) but basically the definition was:

 “A feeling of nostalgia which is more pleasant than the thing for which you are nostalgic for”

 

Either that or I’m just pissed at myself for not being able to still fit into the lyrca suit ((like getting toothpaste back into the tube) ;-p

  To sate the appetite I’ll just spin round on my office chair at the PC to these old skool tune legends and recall that blissed out sensation of having bagged the top podium; of gyrating away in my bodysuit and hotpants and of feeling like I had 500 new best friends!

 DJ Seduction: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPChSQGN8OA

DJ Rap: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SQQ7lZBb4Ug

Leave a Reply

