Hell in a Handcart

05/07/2010

Name that Tune: “And there’s nothing you can do, It’s all just bits of paper flying away from you” – Road to Hell, Chris Rea

Movie Quote of the Day: “You tricked me, you black-hearted whore” – Drag me to Hell

So I survived the night to blog another day, although, to be fair, I’m amazed…. I chose to spend what may have been (in my overactive imagination) my last night on this mortal coil, coochied up in bed with the Bman watching a movie. What movie did we select from our extensive collection for what may have been my last ever televisual experience? A classic like ‘La Dolce Vita’ perhaps? My all time fave, ‘A Room With a View’ maybe? ‘The Grapes of Wrath’? ‘Spartacus’? or the legend that is.. ‘Love Story’?

Nope.

I spooned up to my husband to watch ‘Drag me to Hell’!  (The irony did not escape either of us.)

 I was sucked in by the fact that it was made by Sam Raimi of classic horror; ‘Evil Dead’ fame but I should have know what to expect when I read the tagline; ‘’The Scariest Movie of the Decade’.  Hmmm? Only if all the other movies you had ever watched in the last 10 years had starred Noddy & Big Ears or Thomas the Tank Engine. Frankly, the peril of Thomas getting slightly derailed by a stray cow on the line whilst delivering coal would have been more scary a movie.

What a crock of shite!

Excellent movie to watch if you were playing a drinking game involving shooters of tequila every time there was an obvious story turn or a horror film/cartoon type cliché. Please!  Who has an anvil raised at roof height by a fraying rope in their garage? Who? I tell you who – Road runner that’s who!   Yeah so the old lady in it was vile but the effects were just worse than shite.

Bman & I exchanged glances in the first 5 minutes that wordlessly screamed; “OMG this is going to be total bobbins!”  Drag me to Hell for buying the heap of crap DVD in the first place. It’s going on eBay at the weekend…

                                                           ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On the subject of a load of old bollocks & being dragged to hell:- The UK voting system – What’s the crack? A Hung parliament apparently, yet we are turning students away at the polling stations in college towns ahead of permanent residents; Not enough ballot papers to go round at the polling stations; People queuing in the rain for hours and then not being allowed to vote. It’s not bloody Uzbekistan FFS! Tempted as I am to scream, “Get out of bed a bit earlier then!” at the disgruntled populous waiting under their brollies. I realize that not everyone is able to vote between the hours of 9-5 (but that’s a good enough reason than any to register to vote by post).  What a cock-up! & goodness knows what we shall end up with now.

 I’m considering a move somewhere abroad with a more stable and common-sense approach to running the Country & the Economy – I hear Greece is very nice this time of year…

🙂

 

Leave a Reply

