Election Mention

04/18/2010

Name that Tune:       “Nobody knows me even though I’m always there” – One in Ten, UB40 

 Movie Quote of the Day:     “Or don’t vote for me… who cares? Don’t vote at all!” – Election 

 January 2006 I started this online meander through my life & mind as something to do for a bit of a cathartic rant.   

     I had a few followers. Some of whom have fallen by the wayside (fuck ‘em) 😉 and some of whom stumbled across me somehow in the vast expanse of cyberspace and have had the patience to stick with me.  (Shout to Michael in Sydney).   The rest are friends & family who are forced to read it (or at the very least to have their inbox spammed with  notifications that I have been babbling anew.) 

Since then we have Facebook and Twitter & suddenly everyone’s a Blogger or oversharing every last enema of their existence.  Now I’m just the same as every bugger else!   A bit like when I went backpacking in 1997 and thought I was doing something amazing and unique, only to find myself traveling Australia on bus after bus full of other multinational 20somethings thinking that they were also doing something amazing and unique. Lemmings & sheep to a man.   Christ, I even bumped into someone I knew from back home (my Boss’s son no less) in the middle of a Rainforest in Far North Queensland.  

“Hey how’s it going?” we nodded to one another as we passed on the trail, as if we had just crossed paths in the corridor at the office. **double take** “Whoa! Dude! What are you doing here?” 

 Now we’re in April 2010 and my writing seems to have taken a dive.  I’ve been told to put some spring back in my step – partake of more alcohol or take up smoking again if necessary.  I’ll see what I can do. 

 I could save all the humour for this baby and commit any dismal woe-is-me malarkey to a private diary I suppose, but frankly I don’t have the time.  Sometimes I only feel the urge to write when I feel like the arse is falling out of my own tiny selfish World just so I can get it off my chest.   

 

But when Im having a good time ’I’m too busy having that good time to be sat at the PC committing it to diskspace. 

"Yay a 'Diagnosis Murder' double bill"

  So I’m not doing anything a million other people aren’t doing, which is a bit of a pisser to be honest. Damn it! What do you have to do to be considered an original these days?  

 There are even events for Bloggers now: –   http://blogher10.eventbrite.com/

& awards for best Blogs.  

http://bloggerschoiceawards.com  (taking nominations now everyone so come on what are you waiting for?). Hey  if all 9 of you vote I may get a mention in the ‘Who The Hell Are You Anyway’ category.  I nominated myself, natch  (cos I’m vain like that).   It doesn’t take long – go on, do it, you know you want to. 

Don't Vote for Pedro, Vote for ME

 

Leave a Reply

